This is us

King Racoon Games was founded in 2016 by Felix Mertikat and Till Bröstl in Ludwigsburg, Germany. Since then, quite a few games have been created in the studio in the baroque old town by illustrator, game designer, comic artist and lecturer Felix Mertikat, and also exclusively illustrated by him for years. Since 2022, the studio is expanding its business field by entering the publishing business, and external illustrators, as well as Maxine Metzger, will also contribute to new products. As a studio, we create new, fresh worlds and stories, which we then publish in various media, first and foremost board games, of course. We work either alone or with partners. We love games with deep and complex mechanics, games that you can rediscover every time you play them, and that inspire you beyond the purely mechanical level.

As in real life, representation and plurality are important themes in board games for us. We represent humans and human-like beings in their colorful range, and no one has absolute interpretive authority over the others. In our games, we distinguish between different factions based on their individual strengths, rather than assigning them weaknesses.

These are our games

We love creating games with extensive story worlds and expanding them into comics, novels, and many other mediums. Several years of development and testing go into each game, and they are designed for an exciting gameplay experience.

Tsukuyumi – Full Moon Down

Tsukuyumi – Full Moon Down is a challenging, asymmetrical area control strategy game that avoids elements of luck and chance, thereby challenging the tactical skills of the players. Everything that happens happens because the players made a decision. If you win, it’s because your tactics were simply superior – but if you lose, there’s no roll of the dice to blame your defeat on. And there are pandas riding tigers.

180

Playing time

2-4

Players

14+

Age

2020

Release

4

Factions

EOS Island of Angles

As an adventurous captain, lead your crew into the unknown and make the world a better place by awakening the petrified angels of yore who have been defeated in battle against the demon hosts. Take care of the heroes of your crew while keeping an eye on the ocean to determine the best route for your ship. Make the world a better place by filling the EOS timeline with entries of your exploits.

120

Playing time

1-5

Players

14+

Age

2022

Release

5

Factions

After the Moonfall

After the Moonfall is a tabletop role-playing game set in the world of Tsukuyumi and features a rich storyworld where a bleak future shines in bright colors. Bring humanoid boars to life, play as a mighty land whale, mystical panda warrior, or human survivor, and bring new balance and peace to this warped world.

240+

Playing time

2-6

Players

16+

Age

2022

Release

20

Factions

Witchcraft

Witchcraft is a quick card game, where 2-6 witches compete in conjuring. To do this, they collect the appropriate ingredients and secure the support of animal familiars to be able to perform particularly powerful actions and thus accumulate the most magic in the end.

20

Playing time

2-6

Players

12+

Age

2022

Release

6

Witches

you
need
spare Parts?

Then tell us what you are missing,
we will contact you for a replacement.

Events

We always look forward to chatting with you. Here you can find out where you can meet us and what kind of events we have planned.

News

All the news and background on King Racoon Games and what we are currently working on.

Raccoons in Bäärlin

From 19.7. to 21.7.2024 the Berlin Brettspiel Con opens its doors again and the Raccoons will of course be there! Where? At the Estrel Convention Center Berlin (Sonnenallee 225 | 12057 Berlin) When? 19.7.-21.7.2024, Admission Friday at 4.30 pm & Saturday and...

Be prepared! The end is near!

Less than 30 hours, then the Kickstarter is over. A good reason to let it all hang out! Or... in the case of Tsukuyumi... the Boarloard. So what is happening right now? Thanks to your support, we are currently dashing through the €200,000 mark. We've unlocked a few...

Final sprint!

There are less than 3 days until the end of the campaign and we are already overwhelmed by your support. You are the best fans/supporters/etc. anyone can have! As a little treat, we have a slightly longer video for you, in which Felix talks about his life as a...

Forward! Onwards and Forwards!

The Kickstarter has been running for a few days now, so what has happened in the meantime? We reached the funding target of 100,000 quite quickly and are currently at just under 163,000. As you can tell from the award on the right, Kickstarter likes our campaign as...

Tsukuyumi returns!

The time has come! Tsukuyumi returns to Kickstarter. To get you in the mood, you can watch this great video by Grey Fox Games: Grey Fox Games Kickstarter Video The Kickstarter will go online at 6 p.m. and you can be part of it: Take me to the Kickstarter! We are...

BGT Weekend at Blankenheim Castle

Felix is currently atttending the Board Game Theory Weekend at Blankenheim Castle. https://theboardgametheory.de/ And of course we want you to share in his journey and his experiences. We'll be adding more and more pictures over the course of the weekend, so check...

On the 18th of June the moon crashes onto earth once again!

The end is near! The moon crashes onto earth again and on the 18th of June 2024 it all begins. On this day our crowdfunding campaign for Tsukuyumi 2.5 starts and you can take part in it! >> Tsukuyumi 2.5 Kickstarter << Our Chief Desaster Control Racoon...

New raccoon faces

The world is changing and we are changing with it. Some raccoons have moved on, some are new arrivals. We would like to introduce you to the current team: Gunnar Nickel Management and Marketing As a child, he loved to sit in a tree in the garden and read books that...

Kickstarter and Game Trayz

Dear friends and supporters, We would like to inform you of an important change regarding our upcoming crowdfunding campaign. We had originally planned to run our campaign on the Gamefound platform, but have now decided to switch to Kickstarter. This step was...

The EOS BigBox!

The EOS Big Box!   We have some more good news for you: EOS - Island of Angels has received the “Seal of Approval”   from Dice Tower. We have taken this as an opportunity to offer an EOS Big Box, which now automatically includes all extensions at a lower price....

Don’t miss any more news

All the news and background on King Racoon Games and what we are currently working on.

Join us

Das sind wir

King Racoon Games wurde 2016 von Felix Mertikat und Till Bröstl in Ludwigsburg, Deutschland, gegründet. Seitdem sind in dem Studio in der barocken Altstadt etliche Spiele von Illustrator, Game-Designer, Comiczeichner und Dozent Felix Mertikat entstanden, und auch jahrelang exklusiv von ihm illustriert worden. Seit 2022 erweitert das Studio sein Geschäftsfeld durch einen Einstieg ins Verlagswesen, und auch externe Illustrator*innen, sowie Maxine Metzger, werden bei neuen Produkten mitwirken. Als Studio erschaffen wir neue, frische Welten und Geschichten, die wir dann in verschiedenen Medien, allen voran natürlich Brettspielen, veröffentlichen. Hierbei arbeiten wir entweder alleine oder mit Partnern zusammen. Wir lieben Spiele mit tiefen und komplexen Mechaniken, Spiele, die man mit jedem mal Spielen neu entdecken kann, und über die rein mechanische Ebene hinaus begeistern.

Wie im echten Leben auch, sind Repräsentation und Pluralität wichtige Themen in Brettspielen für uns. Wir stellen Menschen und menschenähnliche Wesen in ihrer bunten Bandbreite dar, und niemand hat die absolute Deutungshoheit über die Anderen. In unseren Spielen unterscheiden wir zwischen verschiedenen Fraktionen anhand ihrer individuellen Stärken, anstatt ihnen Schwächen zuzuweisen.

Das sind unsere Spiele

Wir lieben es, Spiele mit umfangreichen Story-Welten zu entwickeln und sie in Comics, Romanen und vielen anderen Medien zu erweitern. In jedem Spiel stecken mehrere Jahre Entwicklungs- und Testzeit und sie werden auf eine spannende Spielerfahrung hin designt.

Tsukuyumi – Full Moon Down

Tsukuyumi – Full Moon Down ist ein herausforderndes, asymmetrisches Area-Control-Strategiespiel, das Glücks- und Zufallselemente vermeidet, und so die taktischen Fähigkeiten der Spieler*innen besonders herausfordert. Alles was passiert geschieht, weil die Spieler*innen eine Entscheidung getroffen haben. Wenn Du gewinnst, dann weil deine Taktik einfach überlegen war – wenn du aber verlierst gibt es keinen Würfelwurf, auf den du deine Niederlage schieben kannst. Und es gibt Pandas, die auf Tigern reiten.

180

Spielzeit

2-4

Spieler*innen

14+

Alter

2020

Release

4

Fraktionen

EOS Island of Angles

Führe als abenteuerlustige*r Kapitän*in deine Crew ins Unbekannte, und mache die Welt zu einer besseren, indem du die versteinerten Engel der Vorzeit erweckst, welche im Kampf gegen die Heerscharen der Dämonen besiegt worden sind. Kümmere dich um die Held*innen deiner Besatzung und behalte gleichzeitig den Ozean im Auge, um die beste Route für dein Schiff festzulegen. Mache die Welt zu einem besseren Ort, indem du die Chronik von EOS mit Einträgen deiner Heldentaten füllst.

120

Spielzeit

1-5

Spieler*innen

14+

Alter

2022

Release

5

Fraktionen

After the Moonfall

After the Moonfall ist ein Tischrollenspiel in der Welt von Tsukuyumi und bietet eine reiche Storyworld, in der eine düstere Zukunft in bunten Farben leuchtet. Erwecke humanoide Wildschweine zum Leben, spiele als mächtiger Landwal, mystischer Pandakrieger oder menschliche*r Überlebende*r und bringe neues Gleichgewicht und Frieden in diese verzerrte Welt.

240+

Spielzeit

2-6

Spieler*innen

16+

Alter

2022

Release

20

Fraktionen

Witchcraft

Witchcraft ist ein schnelles Kartenspiel, bei dem 2-6 Hexen gegeneinander antreten, um Zauber zu beschwören. Hierzu sammeln sie die passenden Zutaten und sichern sich die Unterstützung tierischer Gefähren, um besonders mächtige Aktionen durchführen zu können und so am Ende die meiste Magie anzusammeln.

20

Spielzeit

2-6

Spieler*innen

12+

Alter

2022

Release

6

Hexen

du
brauchst
ersatzteile?

Dann schreib uns was dir fehlt,
wir melden uns mir Ersatz bei dir.

Events

Wir freuen uns immer darauf, mit euch zu plaudern. Hier erfahrt ihr, wo ihr uns treffen könnt und was für Veranstaltungen wir geplant haben.

News

Alle Neuigkeiten und Hintergründe zu King Racoon Games und woran wir gerade arbeiten.

BGT-Wochenende auf Burg Blankenheim

Felix ist aktuell auf dem Board Game Theory Wochenende auf Burg Blankenheim.   https://theboardgametheory.de/   Und natürlich wollen wir euch an seiner Reise und seinen Erlebnissen Teil haben lassen. Im Lauf des Wochenendes werden wir immer weiter Bilder hinzufügen,...

Am 18.6. fällt der Mond wieder auf die Erde!

Das Ende ist nah! Der Mond fällt ein weiteres Mal auf die Erde und am 18.6.2024 ist es soweit. An diesem Tag startet unsere Crowdfunding-Kampagne für Tsukuyumi 2.5 und ihr könnt mit dabei sein! >> Tsukuyumi 2.5 Kickstarter << Unser Oberster...

Neue Waschbärengesichter

Die Welt verändert sich und wir verändern uns mit. Einige Waschbären sind weitergezogen, einige neu hinzugekommen. Wir wollen euch hier das aktuelle Team vorstellen: Gunnar Nickel Geschäftsführung und Marketing Saß als Kind am liebsten in einem Baum im Garten und hat...

Kickstarter und Game Trayz

Liebe Freunde, Unterstützerinnen und Unterstützer, wir möchten euch eine wichtige Veränderung in Bezug auf unsere bevorstehende Crowdfunding-Kampagne mitteilen. Ursprünglich hatten wir geplant, unsere Kampagne auf der Gamefound-Plattform durchzuführen, jedoch haben...

Die EOS BigBox!

Die EOS Big Box!   Wir haben noch eine zusätzliche frohe Kunde für euch: EOS - Island of Angels hat von Dice Tower das "Seal of Approval" erhalten. Das haben wir zum Anlass genommen, eine EOS Big Box anzubieten, in der ab sofort alle Erweiterungen automatisch...

After the Moonfall ist fertig!

After the Moonfall ist fertig!   Endlich! Nach drei Jahren ist das Rollenspiel Tsukuyumi - After The Moonfall fertig. Viele Liebe und Herzblut sind da reingeflossen z.B. in die über 300 Illustrationen die Felix angefertigt hat. AFTER THE MOONFALL entführt euch in...

Drachen, Wale UND Riesenroboter?

Was gibt es neues beim Tsukuyumi Brettspiel? Zuerst mal, es gibt keine Riesenroboter. Es sind Kampfanzüge! 😉 Zweitens, bitte tut uns einen großen Gefallen und folgt unserem kommenden Kickstarter:...

TSUKUYUMI RISES AGAIN!

Tsukuyumi Kickstarter - April 2024 Melde dich für unseren Kickstarter-Newsletter an, um nichts zu verpassen! Sichere dir den Termin für die mit Spannung erwartete Tsukuyumi Kickstarter-Kampagne im April 2024! Erlebe  die vollständige Neuauflage mit 4 neuen Fraktionen...

Wir sind auf der Dreieich Con 18.11.-19.11.2023

Wir freuen uns das ganze Wochenende mit euch After the Moonfall (das Tsukuyumi Rollenspiel). Ihr könnt euch bereits vorab auf der Seite der Dreieich Con für unsere Runden anmelden. Wer schnell ist bekommt auch auf jeden Fall einen Platz. Vor Ort werden Felix und...

EOS – Island of Angels – Es ist da!

EOS - Island of Angels - Es ist da! geschätzte Lesedauer:  3 min19. Oktober 2023 Eine Seefahrt, eine Messe, ein Spiel - Asymmetrisch, voller Abenteuer und dem Kampf gegen Dämonen.  "EOS - Island of Angels" vor euch ausgebreitet zu sehen, wie die Karten durch eure...

Keine news mehr verpassen

Alle Neuigkeiten und Hintergründe zu King Racoon Games und woran wir gerade arbeiten.

Join us